unclenedsfishfactory.com

Fish-related discussions

Sick Yo-yo Loach

Moderators: Admin, Uncle Ned, ruthe, Sam
Post Reply   Page 1 of 1  [ 3 posts ]
blufish
Post subject: Sick Yo-yo Loach
Posted: Sun Aug 07, 2005 10:05 pm

I am very sad to report that I have an ill yo-yo loach. I am very new to fish keeping, and would appreciate any advice that anyone has to offer. He currently has sores all over his body, and one rather large one at the base of his pelvic fin. What I had recently though was playful behavior, trying to stir up food or something, seems to be glancing (flapping him self against a large rock, or the gravel). For the sake of a closer look, I netted him (or her) to snap a quick picture with a digital camera for a better look. I'm very glad I did, because what I saw was much more concerning than my untrained eye could see from the outside of the tank (see below). The fella likes to hide under rocks, and bury himself, so I don't get to see him often. My other yo-yo, who lives in the same tank is not displaying any problems what so ever.

The site http://www.aquariumfish.net/information ... isease.htm is where I found my info, and had a recommended treatment at http://www.aquariumfish.net/information ... atment.htm. Is this the approach I should take? Should I be treating this entire tank? Again, any help is extremely appreciated!

[ img ]

Profile Quote
Admin
Post subject:
Posted: Mon Aug 08, 2005 12:16 am
Site Admin

Thanks for the picture
it could have helped, but...
I've never seen these symptoms before...
Some things you can do
without doing any harm...
> change 75% of the water
with new water of the same temperature
(or slightly higher... 80 degrees F is good for this species)
> use dechlorinator
> add 2 teaspoons of ordinary salt per gallon of water
(never more than 2 teaspoons of salt for 1 gallon of water...
take out live plants before salting)
> wild guess: parasite...
try using quick-cure
or another anti-parasite medice