Fish-related discussions

Sand Layering & Cycling Questions

Moderators: Admin, Uncle Ned, ruthe, Sam
Post Reply   Page 1 of 1  [ 5 posts ]
AngeloM3
Post subject: Sand Layering & Cycling Questions
Posted: Wed Jan 11, 2006 11:00 am

Sorry I posted this in the wrong forum..... "Nothing to do with fish"

I'm just about to cycle my 55gal SW tank. Last thing I need is sand. Now I'm a college student so I don't have a lot of $ to spend. So I was thinking of doing 50/50 with the sand, about 40lbs of Bio-Sand and 20-30lbs of White or Pink sand.

Sorry for all these questions.... but I wanna do this tank right!

I do plan on having 2 Lawnmower Blennies and various inverts that will be sifting the sand (plus about 3-4 fish). How should I layer the sand? White/Pink sand on bottom and Bio-Sand on top? Or visa versa? I've read that about once a month I should lightly stir the top layer, is this a good idea? My tank came with a plastic grate at the bottom (it's removable) what is this for and do I need it?

During the cycling process what percentage of water and how often should I change the water?

Also a friend told me that you guys sell a "Cleaner Crew" for SW tanks to help get the tank going. How much is that package and should I get those guys pre or post-cycle?

Profile Quote
Admin
Post subject:
Posted: Wed Jan 11, 2006 1:35 pm
Site Admin

I'm just about to cycle my 55gal SW tank. Last thing I need is sand. Now I'm a college student so I don't have a lot of $ to spend. So I was thinking of doing 50/50 with the sand, about 40lbs of Bio-Sand and 20-30lbs of White or Pink sand.

Sorry for all these questions.... but I wanna do this tank right!

I do plan on having 2 Lawnmower Blennies (YOU CAN ONLY HAVE 1 UNLESS THE TANK IS VERY LARGE , THEY FIGHT)
and various inverts that will be sifting the sand (plus about 3-4 fish). How should I layer the sand? (DOES NOT MATTER, IT WILL BE ALL MIXED INSIDE 3 MONTHS.)