unclenedsfishfactory.com

Fish-related discussions

Setup sump, emptied tank overnight, help...

Moderator: Sam
Post Reply   Page 1 of 1  [ 5 posts ]
Author Message
darryn
Post subject: Setup sump, emptied tank overnight, help...
Posted: Thu Dec 07, 2006 8:44 am
Offline
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 11:29 am
 
Glad i went with a test run in basement! I setup a used sump setup with my 55 tank. It has an overflow box and u tube, 3/4 hose to fill sump and 5/8 tube return with pump. Last night everything was working perfect, i even went downstairs a half dozen times to check. This morning i went to check on it, and only about 2 gallons left in main tank !!! Could not have been overflow box right? could i have had a reverse siphon from the return hose?


Top
Profile Quote
Admin
Post subject:
Posted: Thu Dec 07, 2006 4:26 pm
Site Admin
Offline
 
Posts: 10759
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2004 12:16 pm
Location: Millis MA
Contact: Website
 
has to be a leaking 55 gallon tank

_________________

Ned
unclenedsfishfactory@gmail.com
508 533 5969
>>={{{{{{{{{{{{{{(°/)


Top
Profile Quote
Admin
Post subject:
Posted: Thu Dec 07, 2006 4:28 pm
Site Admin
Offline
 
Posts: 10759
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2004 12:16 pm
Location: Millis MA
Contact: Website
 
i have had a reverse siphon from the return hose?

unless the return hose was on the bottom of the 55 gallon tank
give me a call

_________________

Ned
unclenedsfishfactory@gmail.com
508 533 5969
>>={{{{{{{{{{{{{{(°/)


Top
Profile Quote
darryn
Post subject:
Posted: Thu Dec 07, 2006 4:52 pm
Offline
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 11:29 am
 
Since i was just in test mode, yes! i did have the hose just stuck in the tank near the bottom. I figure if i use a spray bar this wont happen ??


Top
Profile Quote
TheFishGuy
Post subject:
Posted: Thu Dec 07, 2006 5:48 pm
Offline
 
Posts: 122
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 10:29 pm
Location: Metrowest
Contact: Website
 
Correct.
he water will only be able to drain as low as the spray bar is on the tank.
It's a good idea to drill a small hole in the return elbow going into to the tank to be able to break the syphon if your power fails.
Also, make sure you do not have your sump completely filled. you need room to allow water to fill in case of a power outage.


Top
Profile Quote
Display: Sort by: Direction:
Post Reply   Page 1 of 1  [ 5 posts ]
Return to “aquariums”
Jump to: